Divisions and districts of Madhya Pradesh

Divisions and districts of Madhya Pradesh

Madhya Pradesh was originally the largest state in India until November 1, 2000 when the state of Chattisgarh was carved out. Historically it is known as Malwa. The predominant language of the region is Hindi. Due to the rule of Marathas, Marathi is spoken by a substantial number of people. It borders the states Uttar Pradesh, Chattisgarh, Maharashtra, Rajasthan and Gujarat. It comprises of 51 districts, which are grouped into ten divisions:

Bhopal Division – Bhopal, Raisen, Rajgarh, Sehore, Vidisha

Gwalior Division – Ashoknagar, Shivpuri, Datia, Guna, Gwalior

Narmadapuram Division – Harda, Hoshangabad, Betul

Chambal Division – Morena, Sheopur, BhindDivisions and districts of Madhya Pradesh

Indore Division – Barwani, Burhanpur, Dhar, Indore, Jhabua, Khandwa, Khargone, Alirajpur

Jabalpur Division – Balaghat, Chhindwara, Jabalpur, Katni, Mandla, Narsinghpur, Seoni Rewa Division – Rewa, Satna, Sidhi, Singroli

Sagar Division – Chhatarpur, Damoh, Panna, Sagar, Tikamgarh

Shahdol Division – Shahdol, Umaria, Dindori, Anuppur

Ujjain Division – Dewas, Mandsaur, Neemuch, Ratlam, Shajapur, Ujjain

Madhya Pradesh have 51 districts and 10 divisions, the largest division are Jabalpur division which have seven Districts and the smallest division in MP are Hoshangabad Division which have three Districts. In 27 aug 2007 Bhopal division devide in to two divisions Bhopal and Hoshangabad and on 14 june 2008 create Shahdol Divison which is spit off Rewa and Jabalpur Divisions. and in year 2008 create two new districts in 17 may 2008 Alirajpur District which is split off Jhabua districts and in 24 may 2008 Singrouli which is split off Sidhi districts and .  Current Minister for health and state spokesman Narottam Mishra explained, “There has been a demand for a separate ‘Agar’ district. The cabinet decided that separate district would help better administration of the region. Madhya Pradesh cabinet on 14aug 2013 approved the formation of Agar Malwa as the 51st district of the state. Four tehsils on the northern part of Shajapur district will be separated to give birth to Agar Malwa on August 16 2013. The district administration office will initially start functioning from the vegetable mandi.


MPPCS  Notes brings Prelims and Mains programs for MPPCS  Prelims and MPPCS  Mains Exam preparation. Various Programs initiated by MPPCS  Notes are as follows:- For any doubt, Just leave us a Chat or Fill us a querry––

Hope we have satisfied your need for KPSC Prelims and Mains Preparation

Kindly review us to serve even better

MPPSC Mains Test Series 2022

20 Quality mock tests and GS Mains Notes

Mains Test Series and Notes

Mains Printed Notes (With COD)

MPPSC Prelims Test Series 2022

24 Quality mock tests and GS Prelims Notes

Prelims Test Series and Notes

Prelims Printed Notes (With COD)

Get Madhya Pradesh at Glance: Complete Madhya Pradesh GK (History, Geography,Polity and Economy) in  Click Here to Get PDF
error: Content is protected !!