Divisions and districts of Madhya Pradesh

Get MP GK PDF Checkout Added to cart

Divisions and districts of Madhya Pradesh

Madhya Pradesh was originally the largest state in India until November 1, 2000 when the state of Chattisgarh was carved out. Historically it is known as Malwa. The predominant language of the region is Hindi. Due to the rule of Marathas, Marathi is spoken by a substantial number of people. It borders the states Uttar Pradesh, Chattisgarh, Maharashtra, Rajasthan and Gujarat. It comprises of 51 districts, which are grouped into ten divisions:

Bhopal Division – Bhopal, Raisen, Rajgarh, Sehore, Vidisha

Gwalior Division – Ashoknagar, Shivpuri, Datia, Guna, Gwalior

Narmadapuram Division – Harda, Hoshangabad, Betul

Chambal Division – Morena, Sheopur, Bhind

Indore Division – Barwani, Burhanpur, Dhar, Indore, Jhabua, Khandwa, Khargone, Alirajpur

Jabalpur Division – Balaghat, Chhindwara, Jabalpur, Katni, Mandla, Narsinghpur, Seoni Rewa Division – Rewa, Satna, Sidhi, Singroli

Sagar Division – Chhatarpur, Damoh, Panna, Sagar, Tikamgarh

Shahdol Division – Shahdol, Umaria, Dindori, Anuppur

Ujjain Division – Dewas, Mandsaur, Neemuch, Ratlam, Shajapur, Ujjain

Madhya Pradesh have 51 districts and 10 divisions, the largest division are Jabalpur division which have seven Districts and the smallest division in MP are Hoshangabad Division which have three Districts. In 27 aug 2007 Bhopal division devide in to two divisions Bhopal and Hoshangabad and on 14 june 2008 create Shahdol Divison which is spit off Rewa and Jabalpur Divisions. and in year 2008 create two new districts in 17 may 2008 Alirajpur District which is split off Jhabua districts and in 24 may 2008 Singrouli which is split off Sidhi districts and .  Current Minister for health and state spokesman Narottam Mishra explained, “There has been a demand for a separate ‘Agar’ district. The cabinet decided that separate district would help better administration of the region. Madhya Pradesh cabinet on 14aug 2013 approved the formation of Agar Malwa as the 51st district of the state. Four tehsils on the northern part of Shajapur district will be separated to give birth to Agar Malwa on August 16 2013. The district administration office will initially start functioning from the vegetable mandi.


error: Content is protected !!
Exit mobile version